RSS

4 Reasons I Was Writing Fiction on Christmas Day

26 Dec

Yes, my family celebrates Christmas, and I spent the weekend with family and friends, doing the things most people do to recognize the holiday. I enjoyed the food, and the Christmas movies, and the exchange of gifts, but  by late afternoon on Christmas Day, everyone was ready to settle down and have a little quiet time. That left me with a few hours of free time, and I used an hour of it to work on a short story.

Why would I want to spend a holiday writing fiction?

  1. I love writing. I had some free time, so why shouldn’t I spend it doing what I most enjoy? I hung out with my family and read from some of the books they gave me as gifts. Writing was just one more enjoyable activity.
  2. Writing every day makes it easier to slide into the fictional worlds I’m creating. The more time I spend away from my characters, the more time and effort I require to get back into their stories. By writing every day, even if the sessions are brief, I find it easier to get back to work each time I sit in front of my laptop. As an added bonus, I also find that I’m thinking about and developing the stories, even when I’m away from my desk.
  3. Progress inspires me. Seeing my stories nearer to completion makes me want to come back for more each day.
  4. I’ve set goals and deadlines for the work I want to publish in 2012. I could wait for New Year’s Day to resolve to make resolutions and plan how I’ll get the work done, but I’m no longer wasting time. No one is going to impose deadlines, work hours, or quality checks on me, so I’m imposing them on myself, and there’s no sense in waiting for an artificial trigger to begin.
Go write something!
Candice
 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 26, 2011 in Fiction, Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “4 Reasons I Was Writing Fiction on Christmas Day

  1. Ermilia

    December 26, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    That’s the spirit. Keep moving forward. I should do this more often… I usually let thinking impede my progress. Thanks for sharing this, it’s inspiring.

    – Ermisenda

     
    • Candice L Davis

      December 26, 2011 at 6:40 pm

      Thanks for stopping by the blog. I’m glad the post inspired you. Please stop back by and let me know how your writing is progressing.

       
  2. Avery

    December 26, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    I agree with “Ermilla” above, and of course ipso facto, Candice too.

     
    • gowritesomething

      December 27, 2011 at 1:22 am

      Thanks for your comment. I hope your writing is going well as you wrap up 2011.

       

Leave a Reply

 
