RSS

The Case for Writing Every Day

16 Jul

Lately, I haven’t spent enough time for writing fiction. I’ve spent most of my writing time on paid projects, and on my own non-fiction projects. As much as I enjoy all of those things, there remains a void that only fiction can fill. Just as I need to break up my non-fiction reading with novels and short stories, my writing time can become a chore, if I fail to work on my own novel or short stories.

The horror novella needs rewrites. Even though I’m not sure I’ve got that all figured out yet, I’m diving back into it. It’s uncomfortable, since I’ve been away from it for a while, but it only takes a few hours of focused work to fall back into my character’s lives. The thing about working on a project every day is that my mind continues to work on it even when I’m not at my desk. I may be at the farmer’s market, or sitting by the pool while my daughter tries to engage me in her water games. At random moments, the character’s speak, and the story bubbles up to latch onto details and ideas I might otherwise have missed. It makes for a richer fictional world when I live in that world for at least an hour or two each day.

I needed a break from the finished material of the novella–sometimes space is the only way to find clarity–but it would’ve been wiser to continue to exercise my fiction-writing muscles on other projects.It’s easier to write, if I do it each day. It’s easier to return to my main fiction project, if I write fiction each day. There’s no reason not to do it. I certainly have enough works-in-progress to keep me busy. Don’t you?

Go write something!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 16, 2011 in Fiction, Writing

 

Leave a Reply

 
