RSS

My First Indie Publishing Venture

26 May

On sale for $2.99 in the Kindle store

My first indie published ebook is out in the world. I published my non-fiction booklet, The Raw Food Difference: 10 Easy Steps to Beauty, Energy, and a Smaller Butt!. It’s a guide to adding more raw vegetables and fruits to your diet and the benefits you can get, if you do. (Among other things, I lost around 60 pounds, and I still get to have dessert.) Having shipped that first project is a great relief and a bit of a thrill!

I spent hours on my laptop trying to get formating just right and going through the process of uploading to Amazon’s Kindle store. Since I’d done so much of the work for Amazon, uploading to Nook was much simpler and easier. (Barnes & Noble hasn’t yet released it.) Neither was as complicated as I expected it to be, though I expect things to be a bit tougher when I have a full-length book ready for a print option.

The ebook is priced at $2.99. I kept the price low, because it’s a booklet. It’s 37 pages, as I state in the description. I didn’t start off at $.99, because it’s packed with information and resources that are valuable to a reader with interests in this area. I kept it very focused and left out the usual fluff. Over time, I’ll see what happens and adjust the price accordingly.

Marketing is a completely different beast, and I haven’t yet attempted to tame it. I’ll add a link to my current and older blogs, The Raw Difference and Rediscover Raw Food. I’ll figure out how to do some marketing on twitter, but in-you-face marketing isn’t really my thing. My longer book non-fiction book is almost finished, so I’ll try to wrap that up soon. Claiming more virtual shelf space is always a good thing, but I’ll have to figure out other ways to get my work in front of readers.

I’m doing final rewrites on my novella, and I have a much more specific plan for marketing it. “Shipping” is my theme for 2011. I defined the term as completing and releasing projects. It’s time to factor in the audience.

Go write something!

Candice

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 26, 2011 in Indie Publishing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “My First Indie Publishing Venture

  1. Ellie

    May 26, 2011 at 11:06 am

    That is great news! Its a frustrating journey at times but the completed product is always worthwhile. Will it be available as a paperback or just an e-book? Just want to know my options…

    Have you set up a facebook page for the book? It’s just another way of grabbing your audience. Many say it’s not really worthwhile but I believe all outlets are worth trying. As for twitter, jump on board and see how it takes you. I am not great with it to be honest but I am sure in time, as with everything, it will eventually work for me.

    Good luck with your sales!

     
    • Candice L Davis

      May 26, 2011 at 11:23 am

      Thanks, Ellie! Because it’s so short, I think it will just be an ebook, although if I can figure out Smashwords, I’ll upload it there and have it available as a pdf and for other e-readers.

      I completely agree with you that all avenues are worth exploring–at least those that don’t require any financial investment.

      Continued good luck to you, as well!

       
  2. Ellie

    May 26, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    Let me know if you need any help with Smashwords.I’m certainly not an expert but I managed it…somehow!

     
  3. Steve

    October 4, 2011 at 12:09 am

    Great website! I just stumbled here from your comments on diythemes today. Anyways, have read a few posts here now and love your path and vision for yourself, seems we are on to a few of the same things. With thus particular post, I was windering if you would share some of your wisdom in the form of how your earnings have been with your raw foods book on amazon? Now that it’s been a few months, what have been the results? Thank you!

     
    • Candice L Davis

      October 5, 2011 at 8:02 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Steve. (I have to add Thesis to this blog–makes everything much easier!) I haven’t done any marketing for the raw food book yet. My plan was to have my 2nd food book up before I begin marketing. I still post on my raw food blog, and tweet a few times a week. As of now, I’m averaging about 20 sales/month. Certainly, not a bestseller, as of yet, but I’d like to get the next book up and start marketing just before the holidays. In fact, I have 3 to 4 singles I should have up for the holiday buying frenzy.

       
  4. Steve

    October 4, 2011 at 12:10 am

    Bad iPhone spelling, haha!

     

Leave a Reply

 
