RSS

I’ll Be Your Toughest Critic

20 May

“I’ll be your toughest critic–like a French critic.” Those were the words of my 12-year old daughter, as I handed her a draft of my novella and a pen with which to mark her notes. I don’t know what her experience has been with the French, but she was true to her word.

The thing about middle-schoolers is that no one has taught them how to deliver bad news. When she was few pages in, I asked for her initial thoughts. She came back with three specific criticisms. She didn’t waste time constructing a bad news sandwich. You know. Say what you like. Say what needs to be improved. Finish with another compliment.

She’s still reading and critiquing, but I peeked over her shoulder and noticed a few asterisks. Those are her “good job” marks.

Looking for an honest critique? I suggested you a grab a kid. They don’t need to be a writer, just a reader without too much concern for your feelings.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 20, 2011 in Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “I’ll Be Your Toughest Critic

  1. Ellie

    May 22, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Wow! I need to get me one of those!

     
    • Candice

      May 23, 2011 at 12:21 am

      A youngster may not have the experience to understand certain complexities, but the unintentional ruthlessness of the critique is invaluable!

       

Leave a Reply

 
